Juanjo Mena, Oslo Philharmonic, Beethoven Symphony No. 1

12nov7:00 pmJuanjo Mena, Oslo Philharmonic, Beethoven Symphony No. 1

Event Details

Juanjo Mena conductor
Oslo Philharmonic
Paul Lewis piano

Ludwig van Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4
Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 5

We celebrate the 250th anniversary of the birth of Ludwig van Beethoven with two of his groundbreaking works.

Beethoven completed the fourth of his five piano concertos in 1806. He opens this concerto with an innovative move: The pianist starts all alone. Beethoven was the soloist himself at the premiere, in Vienna, on an icy day of December 1808.

At the same concert, Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 was played for the first time. It didn’t take long for the symphony to be singled out as a milestone of its genre. It has kept its unique status until our time and has a lot more to offer than the iconic opening riff.

Oslo joins in when the whole world celebrates Beethoven’s 250th anniversary! From 4th to 15th November, Norwegian and international top performers will celebrate Beethoven’s musical and humanistic heritage, through twelve days of concerts, performances, lectures and events throughout Oslo.



(Thursday) 7:00 pm CST