The 2017 Echo Klassik Awards were bestowed on Sunday, 29 October live from the glamourous Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg. The 24th annual ceremony was broadcast on German television station ZDF and streamed live on its Mediathek. Hosted by Thomas Gottschalk, the glittering ceremony featured performances by some of classical music’s brightest stars.

Marianne Crebassa continues to collect honours for her internationally best-selling Erato Classics debut Oh Boy! with the prize for Solo Recording (Voice/ Duets/Opera Arias). Gramophone’s Tim Ashley writes in his album review: “She has a wide-ranging voice, with an appealing tang in her lower registers and a soprano-like brilliance at the top, which allows her to ascend effortlessly to the high C. … Her coloratura is superbly fluent and strikingly delivered.”

Contantin Trinks took home the Symphonic Recording (19th Century) award for conducting Mozarteumorchester Salzburg on Hans Rott’s Symphony No. 1 on Profil. In his 5 Star review for BBC Music Magazine, Erik Levi writes, “this live performance from Constantin Trinks and the Mozarteumsorchester has all the necessary drive, intensity and variety of colour to keep the listener fully engaged.”

BVMI Managing Director Florian Drücke said, “The opportunity to experience such a multitude of fantastic artists, genres and styles in this fascinating concert hall was an unforgettable experience for everyone in attendance. But above all, this evening showed us once again that the ECHO KLASSIK is the ideal forum to reflect the enormous range offered by classical music. The wide array and level of artistic quality on display here tonight was absolutely unique.”

Click here to watch the 2017 Echo Klassik Awards on ZDF