Congratulations to Sir Antonio Pappano and James Gaffiganon their 2016 Echo Klassik Awards. Pappano took home both the Concerto Recording (19th Century Music) award for conducting violinist Janine Jansen and Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia and the London Symphony Orchestra for Brahms & Bartók (Decca) and the coveted Conductor of the Year Award for his universally acclaimed studio recording of Aida (Warner Classics). James Gaffigan is honoured in the Concerto Recording (20th/21st Century Music) category for conducting violinist Vilde Frang and the Frankfurt Radio Symphony on Warner Classic’sBritten/Korngold.

The Echo Klassik Awards, Germany’s highest classical music recording honour, were bestowed in a ceremony on Sunday, 9 October, at Konzerthaus Berlin and hosted by German television and radio host Thomas Gottschalk. The ceremony was broadcast on ZDF and streamed to an audience around the world.

Click here to watch the stream of the 2016 Echo Klassik Awards