Highly sought-after conductor and violinist Roberto González-Monjas will be appointed Chief Conductor and Artistic Advisor of the Dalasinfoniettan from the beginning of the 2019/20 season. Roberto takes over from Daniel Blendulf, who steps down after four years at the end of the 2018/19 season.

Of his new role, Roberto says:

“Looking back to my first meeting with the Dalasinfoniettan I remember being truly inspired by an orchestra which made music with honesty, respect and fearlessness. I feel humbled that this vibrant group has chosen me to accompany them in their journey, and I am already looking forward to all upcoming challenges and shared experiences!

“Receiving such profound trust at the early stages of my conducting career isn’t only an honor, but also a great responsibility. I feel strongly motivated – and more convinced than ever – to keep guiding my life through the values of humanity, discipline, devotion, hard work and kindness.

“My deepest thanks to the musicians of the Dalasinfoniettan for their trust, to the extraordinary Daniel Blendulf for his transforming work with the orchestra, and to the orchestra’s management for making this happy story possible.”

In addition to his new role as Chief Conductor and Artistic Advisor Designate of Dalasinfoniettan, Roberto is also the leader of the Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome and the Musikkollegium Winterthur.

Roberto’s eclectic concert diary includes regular conducting, play-directing and engagements as a soloist with orchestras such as the Musikkollegium Winterthur, Orquesta Sinfónica de Castilla y León, the Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra, Orchestre de l’Opera National de Bordeaux Aquitaine, New World Symphony in Miami and Medellín Philharmonic Orchestra. Passionate about chamber music collaborations, Roberto is a regular guest at Verbier and Lockenhaus Festivals. He frequently collaborates with singers and instrumentalists including Ian Bostridge, Yuja Wang, Janine Jansen, Alexander Lonquich, Lisa Batiashvili, Fazil Say, Reinhard Goebel, Thomas Quasthoff, András Schiff and Kit Armstrong.