The BBC Proms return with live music from London’s Royal Albert Hall, Manchester’s Salford Quays and Glasgow’s City Halls. The celebrated and beloved festival will feature live performances from 28 August through the Last Night of the Proms on 12 September. This year The Proms also presents a series of iconic past performances broadcast on the BBC.

The two weeks of Live Proms will feature seven new commissions highlighting the Proms’ commitment to contemporary music. Mitsuko Uchida will premiere Thomas Adès’s new work Dawn with the London Symphony Orchestra and Sir Simon Rattle on 30 August. Thomas Dausgaard conducts the world premiere of Jay Capperauld’s Circadian Refrains (172 Days Until Dawn) on 5 September.

Audiences will be able to listen to every Live Prom on BBC Radio 3 and watch on BBC Four (Thursday, Friday and Sunday) and BBC iPlayer (Saturday, Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday). UK and international audiences may listen to The 2020 Proms performances for 30 days on the BBC Sounds app.

30 August, 2020 at 19:30 (BBC Four)

Mitsuko Uchida, piano

Adès: Dawn (BBC Commission: world premiere)
Beethoven: Piano Sonata in C sharp minor, Op. 27 No. 2 “quasi una fantasia” (“Moonlight”), 1st movement
Kurtág: …quasi una fantasia

London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Simon Rattle, conductor

London’s Royal Albert Hall

2 September, 2020 at 19:30 (BBC iPlayer)

Omer Meir Wellber, conductor

Haydn: Philemon und Baucis (Overture)
Britten Nocturne
Haydn Symphony No. 80 in D minor

Allan Clayton, tenor
BBC Philharmonic

Manchester’s Salford Quays

5 September, 2020 at 19:30 (BBC iPlayer )

Thomas Dausgaard, conductor

George Walker: Lyric for Strings*
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat Major
Jay Capperauld: Circadian Refrains (172 Days Until Dawn) (BBC Commission: world premiere)
Strauss: Metamorphosen

Stephen Hough, piano
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

*Dausgaard conducted the world premiere of Walker’s Sinfonia No. 5 with Seattle Symphony in April 2019.

Glasgow’s City Halls

11 September, 2020 at 19:30 (BBC Four)

Sheku Kanneh-Mason, cello
Isata Kanneh-Mason, piano

Beethoven: Cello Sonata in C Major, Op. 102 No. 1
Barber: Sonata for cello and piano
Frank Bridge: Mélodie
Rachmaninov: Cello Sonata in G minor

London’s Royal Albert Hall

For more information, please visit

Isata Kanneh-Mason and Sheku Kanneh-Mason are managed in association with Enticott Music Management. Mitsuko Uchida is co-managed with Enticott Music Management.