Rendezvous with Marlene, the new album from Ute Lemper is available in stores and online now on Jazzhaus Records.

This marvellous new recording is Lemper’s personal reflection of Marlene Dietrich’s most celebrated songs from all chapters of her career, including the German, American and French songbooks. With a gentle homage to Marlene’s style, Ute’s authentic and playful interpretations are imbued with her imagination and musicality. This story begins more than thirty years ago in 1988. After Ute won France’s Moliére Award for her performance as Sally Bowles in Cabaret, Lemper sent Marlene a postcard to apologise for all of the media attention comparing the two. Marlene called Ute, and that 3-hour phone call serves as the inspiration for this album. Ute was at the beginning of her career in theatre and music, whereas Marlene was reflecting upon an extraordinary life of stardom, passion and collaboration. What a secret gift to hear Marlene speak about her life, her work and style, her love for the poet Rilke, her complicated relationship with Germany, her sorrow and her fascinations. Ute shares this gift with audiences today through these fabulous new recordings of songs first made famous by Dietrich throughout her career – from the Berlin cabaret years through her musical partnership with Burt Bacharach.

Track Listing

  1. One for My Baby
  2. Lili Marlene
  3. They Call Me Naughty Lola
  4. Blowing in the Wind
  5. Marie Marie
  6. Ruins of Berlin
  7. Und wenn er wiederkommt
  8. When the World was young
  9. Wenn ich mir was wünschen dürfte
  10. Want to Buy Some Illusions
  11. Que Reste-t-il De Nos Amour
  12. The Laziest Gall in town
  13. Where Have All the Flowers Gone
  14. Just a Gigolo
  15. Falling in Love Again
  16. Ich hab’ noch einen Koffer in Berlin
  17. Allein in einer großen Stadt
  18. Dejeuner Du Matin
  19. Wenn der Sommer wieder einzieht
  20. Sch… Kleines Baby

Listen to Rendezvous with Marlene on Spotify!