Australia’s premiere classical music magazine, Limelight, has released the shortlist for their Australian and International Artist of the Year awards. Conductor Semyon Bychkov, violinist Hilary Hahn and cellist Steven Isserlis are all up for the honour, voted for by the public.

People may vote up for up to five of their favourite artists in each category by visiting: now through 15 October at 11:59 AEDT.

Limelight writes:

“The nominees are chosen by our staff writers and experienced team of reviewers working across the country, and include composers, conductors, instrumentalists, singers and ensembles, working in classical music and opera.

“Once again, we will be presenting both Critics’ and People’s Choice Awards. We are asking our readers to vote for the Australian and international artists that have excited and entertained them the most over the past year. The winners will be announced in our December 2023 magazine, which is available to subscribers online from Monday 20 November.”


Photos: Semyon Bychkov – Marco Borregreve; Hilary Hahn – O J Slaughter; Steven Isserlis – Satoshi Aoyogi