Chief Conductor Roberto González-Monjas and Musikkollegium Winterthur Extend Collaboration through July 2027

15 Dec 2023

Chief Conductor Roberto González-Monjas and Musikkollegium Winterthur has extended their collaboration for an additional two years through July 2027. He and the Orchestra have enjoyed a fruitful collaboration since 2013. Before taking over as Chief Conductor in October 2021, González-Monjas was First Concertmaster of the orchestra for eight years, and has also performed with the ensemble as a soloist and chamber musician.

Roberto said: “I feel privileged to be extending my collaboration with the Musikkollegium Winterthur until 2027! As we embark on our third season together, it is not lost on me that I am extremely fortunate: the Musikkollegium is a fascinating combination of centuries-old tradition and audacious modernity; an orchestra of the utmost quality, refinement and intelligence; and an institution that is committed to excellence, education and community. I couldn’t be prouder of belonging to the Musikkollegium family and am already looking forward to many more years of music-making, risk-taking and inspiration.”

Dominik Deuber, Director of the Musikkollegium Winterthur, describes Roberto González-Monjas as “a fantastic musician and excellent communicator whose enthusiasm is infectious.” He adds: “With his clear stylistic ideas and precise working methods, he has made a decisive contribution to the orchestra’s development.” And Dr Philipp Stoffel, President of the Musikkollegium Winterthur, declares: “We are proud that we have once again succeeded in extending our collaboration with Roberto González-Monjas – despite the considerable international interest shown in him – and are delighted by his continued commitment to our institution and the City of Winterthur.”

As part of the collaboration with the Musikkollegium Winterthur, a CD recording entitled Werden was recently released under the direction of Roberto González-Monjas. It features Mozart’s Symphony No. 39 juxtaposed with a contemporary work by composer Andrea Tarrodi. Two further CD recordings of Mozart’s 40th and 41st symphonies are planned.

See Roberto González-Monjas conduct Musikkollegium Winterthur in Winter/Spring 2024:

31 January and 2 February
Cherubini: Marche funèbre; Mahler: Kindertotenlieder; Holliger: “Ostinato funebre”; Honegger: Symphony No. 3 “Liturgique”

Huw Montague Rendall, baritone

3 February
Hefti: Fünf Concertini für Streichorchester; Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 3 in G Major, K. 216 and Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K. 550
Roberto González-Monjas – play/direct

15 February
A Meditation on Grief and Passion (programme to be revealed at the concert)

16 February
“Club of the 700”: Mozart: Symphony No. 6 in F major, KV 43; Salieri: Sinfonia “Il giorno onomastico”

21 March and 22 March
Bach: St Matthew’s Passion BWV 244
Zürcher Sing-Akademie; Markus Utz, chorus master

Photo: Marco Borrgreve