“‘Baroque’ is Montenegrin classical guitarist MILOŠ’ most virtuoisc album to date. That is, he asks the famous question, ‘Sonata, what do you want of me?’ and listens for an answer before communicating it to us in the clearesr, most elegant and most moving fashion.“ Gramophone Magazine

 MILOŠ – the superstar musician who has led today’s classical guitar revival, begins a new era in his exceptional career with a debut album for Sony Classical. Titled simply “Baroque”, the album presents MILOŠ’ carefully curated selection of baroque works especially transcribed and arranged for the guitar, both solo and in collaboration with Jonathan Cohen and his ensemble Arcangelo. The album will be released on 13 October and is set to enrich the unrivalled legacy of Sony Classical’s recordings of legendary guitarists, which boast John Williams and Julian Bream amongst others.

MILOŠ, Jonathan Cohen and his ensemble Arcangelo will give six concerts from 14 – 21 January performing a selection of music from the album. Venues include Theatre Royal Norwich (14 January); Cadogan Hall, London (17 January); Middlesbrough Town Hall (18 January); Sheffield City Hall (19 January); St George’s Concert Hall, Bristol (20 January) and Usher Hall, Edinburgh (21 January).

Watch a sneak peak of MILOŠ’s forthcoming performance film ‘Golden Age – MILOŠ at Blenheim Palace’ with this beautiful video of Handel’s Menuet (arr. Michael Lewin). The film features MILOŠ performing works from Baroque in the stunning surroundings of Blenheim Palace. The film will be released later this year.

MILOŠ will perform at Classic FM Live on 16 October. Hosted by Alexander Armstrong and Myleene Klass, MILOŠ joins the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra in a concert celebrating the Classic FM Hall of Fame, the world’s biggest annual poll of classical music tastes. More information available here.

Since his incredible breakthrough in 2011, when his debut album held the no. 1 position in the UK Classical charts for a breathtaking 28 weeks, MILOŠ has built an impressive international career by performing solo recitals and concertos at most of the world’s leading concert venues. His six studio albums have sold the equivalent of over half a million copies and conquered the classical album charts in multiple territories, earning him a Classical BRIT, Echo Klassik and two Gramophone Awards. Not to mention worldwide critical acclaim, BBC Music Magazine included him in “Six of the Best Classical Guitarists of the Past Century” and The New York Times cited him as “one of the most exciting and communicative classical guitarists today.” His wide variety of musical influences and repertoire, ranging from baroque to contemporary music, via the Beatles and beyond, has helped MILOŠ build a loyal international fanbase and introduce his instrument to a whole new generation of listeners.  His long list of musical collaborators ranges from Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Lisa Batiashvili, Alison Balsom, and Jess Gillam, to Tori Amos, Gregory Porter and Anoushka Shankar. He was the first-ever classical guitarist to perform a sold-out solo show at the Royal Albert Hall, where he returned last summer playing to a capacity audience. He has presented on both BBC and Sky TV and has his own series of educational books “Play Guitar with Miloš” published by Schott Music. He recently launched the “Miloš Karadaglić Foundation”- based in Porto Montenegro – this philanthropic organisation aims to act as a regional hub of influence by empowering artistic excellence though various educational opportunities, partnership and close mentorship.

“Baroque” heralds a new milestone in MILOŠ’ career. “Since the very beginning of my life as a musician, I have been deeply inspired by the incredible variety and electrifying energy of the baroque repertoire. This golden era of music is mysterious and extraordinary, flamboyant, often endlessly lyrical, ultimately timeless. And yet within the classical guitar context, apart from J.S. Bach, I believe we have only ever managed to touch the surface. This very thought inspired me to, over the years, try and dig deeper, go beyond the obvious, experiment, collaborate and transcribe, to open a new door of possibilities for my instrument and its own baroque voice”.

MILOŠ’s own transcription of Bach’s monumental Chaconne sits at the heart of this recording, anchoring the richly varied constellation of baroque composers’ masterpieces. MILOŠ particularly wanted to present the guitar across a wide range of European influences, and not merely within the more familiar Spanish context. He has selected luminescent works by nine composers here, the majority of which have never been played on solo guitar before.

There is plenty of light and shade within the music, reflecting baroque’s unique chiaroscuro character. Works such as Alessandro Marcello’s Adagio from ‘Oboe Concerto in D Minor’; Domenico Scarlatti’s ‘Sonata in D minor’; the Menuet from George Frideric Handel’s ‘Suite in B-Flat Major’; Jean-Philippe Rameau’s The Arts and the Hours or François Couperin’s Les Barricades mystérieuses offer more introspective moments, while Antonio Vivaldi’s movements from La Notte and L’estro Armonico, originally written as a concerto for 4 violins, or indeed Boccherini’s Fandango from ‘Quintet No. 4 in D Major’ provide fireworks of thrilling virtuosity.

MILOŠ worked very closely with Jonathan Cohen on all the orchestral transcriptions, as well as with Michael Lewin, the eminent British guitarist and lutenist with whom he studied at the Royal Academy of Music in London and with whom he now shares a wonderful creative collaboration.

“Everything I have learned and experienced in my musical life so far, all the influences and various musical traditions, converge in this album” says MILOŠ. “I wanted to convey a new vision of baroque here, with all the variety of style and texture, while preserving the innate intimacy and typical beauty of the guitar sound.”

While for MILOŠ one creative circle closes with the release of this album, “Baroque” ultimately serves as the foundation of a brand-new era in this artist’s already extraordinary career.

MILOŠ will perform works from “Baroque” at the Carnegie Hall, New York in November this year, before embarking on a UK tour with Jonathan Cohen and Arcangelo in January 2024, followed by the North American tour in Spring 2024 with ‘Les Violons Du Roy’.

“Baroque” will be released internationally on Sony Classical on 13 October 2023 on CD and Digital formats.


1. Scarlatti: Sonata in D minor, K. 32
2. Vivaldi (arr. Michael Lewin): Concerto for Flute, Strings and Basso continuo No. 2 in G minor “La notte” RV 439 – VI. Allegro
3. Rameau (arr. Michael Lewin): The Arts and the Hours
4. Handel (arr. Michael Lewin): Suite de Pièces pour le Clavecin No. 1 HWV 434 -IV. Menuet
5. Vivaldi (arr. Michael Lewin): Concerto for 4 Violins, Cello, Strings and Basso continuo
in B minor RV 580 – I. Allegro
6. Weiss: Passacaille in D major WeissSW 18.6
7. Scarlatti (arr. Michael Lewin): Sonata in F minor K 466 (L 118)
8. Vivaldi (arr. Michael Lewin): Concerto for 4 Violins, Cello, Strings and Basso continuo in B minor RV 580 – III. Allegro
9. Bach: Partita for Solo Violin No. 2 in D minor BWV 1004 – V. Chaconne
10. Marcello: Concerto for Oboe, Strings and Basso continuo in D minor – II. Adagio
11. Boccherini: Quintet for Guitar, 2 Violins, Viola and Cello No. 4 in D Major G 448 – IV. Fandango (after the 2nd Movement of String Quintet in D Major “Del Fandango” G. 341
12. Weiss: Fantasie in C minor WeissSV9
13. Couperin: Les Barricades mystérieuses (The Mysterious Barricades from Pièces de clavecin, Second livre, ordre No. 6)
14. Vivaldi (arr. Michael Lewin): Trio Sonata for Violin, Lute and Basso continuo in C major RV 82 -II. Larghetto

Miloš Karadaglić guitar
Arcangelo [2, 5, 8, 10, 11, 14]
Jonathan Cohen direction [2, 5, 8, 10, 11, 14]

Click to listen and buy

Photo credit: Christoph Köstlin