Angus Webster



Praised for his inspiring musicianship, British conductor Angus Webster opened the 2023/24 season by returning to Ulster Orchestra for two concerts within BBC Radio 3’s Invitation Series. His programmes included works by Huw Watkins and Judith Weir alongside Ravel’s Le Tombeau de Couperin, Beethoven 2 and Dvorák 8. A popular guest with Ulster Orchestra, Webster returns for subscription concerts this season (Tchaikovsky’s Pathetique symphony) and the next.

Following recent debuts with Nagoya Philharmonic and Osaka Philharmonic orchestras, this season Webster also returns to Japan for subscription concerts with Tokyo Symphony Orchestra (Brahms 4) and Nagoya Philharmonic Orchestra (Dvorák 7). Plans further ahead include a return to Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra NOSPR, following a successful debut in 2021/22.

Recent highlights elsewhere include Philharmonia Orchestra, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Bruckner Orchestra Linz.

Read more


“Webster was no less brilliant in the Brahms where it was obvious that he simply adored the music, and it was a joy to see a conductor with a genuine sense of wonder.”

The Edinburgh Reporter

“Already in Elgar’s Introduction and Allegra, Webster drew attention to his ability to control the symphonic apparatus in terms of pace and shaping narrative plans between soloists and tutti [National Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra] … Webster brilliantly coped with the monumental form of the work [RVW Symphony 2] in terms of building tension and relaxation, both in the entire cycle and in its individual parts… kept the ensemble perfectly in check. It is worth following the further steps of the young Briton and the path that his career will follow”

Agnieszka Nowok-Zych

Ruch Muzyczny (Musical Movement)


Featured News

Angus Webster Debuts in Japan with Nagoya Philharmonic Orchestra

Angus Webster conducts Nagoya Philharmonic Orchestra on 13 and 14 May 2022. In celebration of Ralph Vaughan William’s 150th anniversary, the programme features Elgar’s Introduction and Allegro, Mozart’s Oboe Concerto in C major (with soloist Yoshi Mizuho), and Vaughan...